:: Home :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Can't launch Skale on Slackware 10.2

 
       Skale Tracker Forum Index -> Skale Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Greg
Skale Clueless


Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Lille - FRANCE

Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 4:29 pm    Post subject: Can't launch Skale on Slackware 10.2

Hi,

I just installed Slackware on my old laptop and I can't get Skale running.
I've done what's said in the FAQ, but I still have the same problem with SDL :
Code:
Fatal signal: Segmentation Fault (SDL Parachute Deployed)


I though I found a clue in the LibSDL FAQ, but installing arts is useless. I re-installed SDL and everything Skale may need, but I can't get it work.

Does someone have any idea ?

Thanks !
Back to top
st3vie
Skale Administrator


Joined: 13 Nov 2002
Posts: 641
Location: Beverwijk, The Netherlands

Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 9:45 pm    Post subject:

can you tel me some system hardware specs?
perhaps a non-hardware accelerated audio chipset that's being used already?

-st3vie
Back to top
Greg
Skale Clueless


Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Lille - FRANCE

Posted: Sun May 14, 2006 12:16 pm    Post subject:

Hi Stevie,

My laptop is an old Toshiba Satellite 220CS ; Pentium 133, 80Mb of RAM, 1.4 Go harddrive, Yamaha OPL-3 sound chipset, ...

I'm able to listen to MP3 with XMMS, so the sound is working. I use ALSA, but I also installed a ALSA-OSS bridge.
Back to top
st3vie
Skale Administrator


Joined: 13 Nov 2002
Posts: 641
Location: Beverwijk, The Netherlands

Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 1:24 pm    Post subject:

hmm, your specs seem what low for Skale officially.

Since SDL is used for both gfx and sound, what screen resolution are you using? Is 800x600 possible? Is it an available option in the X config?

If you only use Alsa, it could depend on the hardware capabilities of your soundcard/chip. Is it capable of hardware acceleration? Can you use Alsa with XMMS and another program at the same time?

Is SDL compiled with alsa support or perhaps OSS support?

good luck

-st3vie
Back to top
The Headacher
Skale Clueless


Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 6

Posted: Tue May 16, 2006 12:19 am    Post subject:

I once got that error when SDL was not in PATH. perhaps this will work:
Code:
whereis libSDL
That should show where it's located. Now, see if the directory in which it is located in your PATH:
Code:
echo $PATH
If it is, that is not your problem. If it isn't add it to your PATH (I used /usr/local/lib as example)
Code:
PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/lib

Now see if you can get skale to work. If that does the trick try adding that line to ~/.bashrc so you won't have to type that every time you want to start Skale
_________________
Aching heads with that funky hardcore beat.

VectorLinux 5.1.1 SOHO
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
       Skale Tracker Forum Index -> Skale Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group