:: Home :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Minimum hardware config to run Skale

 
       Skale Tracker Forum Index -> Skale Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Greg
Skale Clueless


Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Lille - FRANCE

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:53 pm    Post subject: Minimum hardware config to run Skale

Hi people,

A friend of mine gave me an old laptop, and I want to turn it into a small beatbox when my drummer can't play with my band.
The laptop is an old Pentium 100 with 16Mb of RAM, and a 800x600 display.

I would like to install a Slackware Linux on it, with a lightweight desktop manager like Fluxbox. Do you know if Skale can run on a such old computer ?

If I can't, I'll keep the Windows 98 that is already installed, or move to FreeDOS.

Thanks !

Greg
Back to top
vereiser
Skale Moderator


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 314
Location: Berlin, Germany

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 3:41 pm    Post subject:

It's a question, if he wants to use VSTFx and VSTi.
A using of Skale without these plugins, will work without any problems on his machine, I think.

You need at last a minimum performance of 500Mhz. I work with a pentium 4 with 2.8 GHz and 1 GB Ram, which is sometimes not fast enough.
_________________
http://www.vereiser.de

Intel Pentium 4 / 2,8 GHz / 1 GB DDR / WinXP Prof. / Hoontech DSP24 Value (multichannel soundcard)
Back to top
Greg
Skale Clueless


Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Lille - FRANCE

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:28 pm    Post subject:

Thanks for your reply !

I'll try to install Linux on this laptop this week. I just need "a-la-FT2" features, and nothing much more. I'm not sure this computer is powerful enough to run Fast Tracker II, with a large amount of tracks (more than 8 or 16).

I remember I was running FT2 with a Pentium 75 with 16Mb of RAM, then a K6-200 with 32Mb of RAM, which was okay for tracking purpose.

The problem with Linux is that the X server and the modules will take some resource, that won't be available for Skale.
Back to top
st3vie
Skale Administrator


Joined: 13 Nov 2002
Posts: 641
Location: Beverwijk, The Netherlands

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:31 pm    Post subject:

No, this is not enough. The application with skins and such are currently too heavy for memory usage (~24MB i believe) and you need some sort of OS of course.

The cpu speed that is aimed for with Skale is 266Mhz minimum, though that will probably be too low for now. Next versions will be less resource intensive.

Screen size of 800x600 is enough.

-st3vie
Back to top
Greg
Skale Clueless


Joined: 03 Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Lille - FRANCE

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:37 pm    Post subject:

Thanks Stevie !

Damn, I'll install Skale on my desktop machine but I have to find a solution for my "oldschool beatbox". I'll try Soundtracker on Linux.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
       Skale Tracker Forum Index -> Skale Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group