:: Home :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Realtime play...

Skale Tracker Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FireWalk
Skale Clueless

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:30 am    Post subject: Realtime play...

Hi! I'm new to this forum. First of all I have to say that it's greate that someone takes up where our sweedish friends left off. I have been using FT2 for many years. It was my first Tracker, and I've stuck to it to this day. Lately DOS is not commonly used, and I've been using Windows 2k, XP etc wich does (as we all know) not support Dos based FT2. Emulators exist, but offers poor performance.

So I figgured I should try Skale tracker. Exept from some unnstable performance, CPU usage and some other small things wich I'm by the way sure you wull fix in later patches, There is however one thing that prevents me from seeing this tracker as an equal to FT2. And this is:

In Ft2, as I made music, I would always play arround with an instrument in order to try and come up something cool. I would play with the instrument, playing a realtime tune while the background music I had already made were still playing in the background. To acomplish this I simply placed a few channels in "rec" mode and my playing on the keyboard would be confined to theese channels.

When I attempt to "play" realtime on the keyboard while at the same time playing what I have made thus far in skale, Things get messed up. My playing is not confined to the channels I have choosen, but simply rush over ALL channels, and sooner or later it will start playing on top of channels already in use. This makes a mess of everything and causes the channel in use to stop playing etc etc.

In other words: this activity is impossible in Skale Tracker. Therefore it's impossible for me to make music As I used to do.