:: Home :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Mixed samples or MultiInstruments

 
       Skale Tracker Forum Index -> Skale Suggestions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Emo
Guest





Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:12 pm    Post subject: Mixed samples or MultiInstruments

Why does'nt Skale, like ft2 have the "mix samples" feature (advanced edit)? Where u were able to mix any samples to only one, mixed sample.


Please, work it!
Back to top
vereiser
Skale Moderator


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 314
Location: Berlin, Germany

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 12:39 pm    Post subject:

The feature you miss is not in ADVANCED EDIT.
In FT][ the function is named S.E.Ext..
I missed that feature too, but I think BAK can ignore the old way of mixing samples.
It is more useful mixing samples via keygroups in Instr.Edit layering them.
This is how hardware sampler work. They can play different samples at one key.

The picture below descripes what I mean.
If you click on one sample in the bank the mask of the keyboard change.
Unused keys could be blanked. Or used could mark by color or keys could sign by number of the sample bank.

Sampler have that cool ability, that you can control samples by velocity.
For instance if you play a sample with a velocity/volume of 2F(Hex) and the velocity range of the sample in the keygroup is from 35 to AF the sample would not been played, only if the velocity is between the min and max value. The min and max value setting can be added to Instr.Edit.

Instrument: String 1
Bank-----------Velocity-----------Play----Not Play
1 Harp--------2A --> 7F-----------3B-------04
2 Square-----5F --> 93-----------89--------FF

Velocity 65 will play both samples.


.


Last edited by vereiser on Sun Dec 12, 2004 5:08 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
dBlues
Skale Moderator


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 338
Location: Finland

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:32 pm    Post subject:

Vereiser: excellent! So you can repair badly loaded soundfonts this way too? Let's try that...
_________________
"MacReady: Why don't we just wait here for a little while... see what happens?"
Back to top
Guest






Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:16 am    Post subject:

vereiser!!

Thanks alot m8! I'll try that right away!
Back to top
Emo
Guest





Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:22 am    Post subject:

...is this for real or was it just an suggestion?
Back to top
vereiser
Skale Moderator


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 314
Location: Berlin, Germany

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:29 am    Post subject:

Yeah, it is only a suggestion.
Back to top
dBlues
Skale Moderator


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 338
Location: Finland

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 2:28 pm    Post subject:

Goddamn, I already thought I missed something this big
_________________
"MacReady: Why don't we just wait here for a little while... see what happens?"
Back to top
Emo
Guest





Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 5:16 pm    Post subject:

A very very nice one. One of the best suggestions i've ever seen

Skale crew must not sleep on this
Back to top
vereiser
Skale Moderator


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 314
Location: Berlin, Germany

Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2004 5:10 pm    Post subject:

My idea is now complete. I added an controlling by velocity option.
Back to top
dBlues
Skale Moderator


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 338
Location: Finland

Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:27 pm    Post subject:

Emo wrote:
A very very nice one. One of the best suggestions i've ever seen

Skale crew must not sleep on this


I think this feature has shouted for itself since Skale started to support multisampled formats. there is no reason to not be able to assign multiple samples for one note, it's mainly a GUI-related thing... The GUI of Skale is getting pretty full of stuff. It would help to have a greater resolution, but we'll see how it'll turn out later.
Vereiser's idea is good, but those keyboards could be too big for Skale GUI at the moment. Maybe it would be better if there was some hotkey to assign an extra sample for a note, for example shift-click to keyboard at some key would add the sample above the previous sample. You could remove samples by shift-rightclick to the sample number in the key.
_________________
"MacReady: Why don't we just wait here for a little while... see what happens?"
Back to top
vereiser
Skale Moderator


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 314
Location: Berlin, Germany

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:23 pm    Post subject:

Here another suggestion to handle the mixed sample problem.

The idea is, you set the notes with one instrument, for instance a piano sound. Then you declare another instrument to be a slave of the master instrument, you set the notes for.
It means, the notes of the main instrument, here the piano sound, controls other instruments.

Instrument 00: Piano --> Main
Instrument 01: String 1 --> Slave of Instrument 00
Instrument 02: String 2 --> Slave of Instrument 00

So every instrument could be the master of another.

If you set the slave instruments, you will hear the slave instrument only.
If you set the master instrument, you hear the slave instruments and the master instrument.

Understanding what I mean.

What do you think.
_________________
http://www.vereiser.de

Intel Pentium 4 / 2,8 GHz / 1 GB DDR / WinXP Prof. / Hoontech DSP24 Value (multichannel soundcard)
Back to top
vereiser
Skale Moderator


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 314
Location: Berlin, Germany

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 11:46 pm    Post subject:

Another idea.

If we have the possibilty to assign samples to a keyboard key more than one like the imported AKP or SF2, it will be easy to get a multi-layered instrument.

We could handle that like this

Instrument Edit Bar:
Left mouse button assigns the selected sample to a keyboard key.
Right mouse removes an assigned sample from the keyboard key by selecting this sample in the sample bar
_________________
http://www.vereiser.de

Intel Pentium 4 / 2,8 GHz / 1 GB DDR / WinXP Prof. / Hoontech DSP24 Value (multichannel soundcard)
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
       Skale Tracker Forum Index -> Skale Suggestions All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group