:: Home :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
[Tutorial] Using VST Instruments

 
       Skale Tracker Forum Index -> Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dBlues
Skale Moderator


Joined: 09 Jul 2003
Posts: 338
Location: Finland

Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 1:45 pm    Post subject: [Tutorial] Using VST Instruments

Ok, not everybody knows how to use VSTi:s (just recently got into it myself). So.

First thing to do is check if your VSTi is compatible with Skale, many of them arent at the moment:
http://www.metamacro.com/awezoom/skale/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=990
(the list is not perfect, if you can add some vsti to it, thats great ).


Using a VSTi from the computer keyboard

1. Load a VST-instrument to a normal instrument slot (disk operation->synth and click the .dll-file). Do not load it into a slot where there already is a VSTi, Skale currently has problems unloading the VSTi so this might lead to a crash. At least it does this for me.

2. From the normal view, select a slot you want to assign the instrument to.

3. Open the instrument edit ext. window and select the synth-option.

4. Select VST-instrument from the menu and activate it (press the little ball next to it).

4. Happy jamming!

-tips: type in a few notes to a pattern and press play. Then you can go edit the sound from synth->own edit (since key jamming is disabled in own edit mode).


Using VSTi with midi-keyboard

1. Repeat the previous part from 1 to 4

2. Select midi input from the config

3. That's it!

Changing volume of a VSTi

At the moment, you can only change it from the mixer:

1. Open mixer-window and click synth-stripe between the effects and the mixer.

2. Use the volume slider to control the synth volume.


Applying effects to a VSTi

1. Load a VST-effect into a effects slot (disk op->effects).

2. Open mixer-window and click synth-stripe between the effects and the mixer.

3. Select the effect destination from your synth's mixer stripe. There are 8 buttons in the stripe that control the signal routing to the effects. You can also control the effects send volume here (from the knob right next to this button).
_________________
"MacReady: Why don't we just wait here for a little while... see what happens?"


Last edited by dBlues on Mon May 16, 2005 3:07 pm; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
Liner
Skale Clueless


Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Location: Hämeenlinna, Finland

Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 2:21 pm    Post subject:

Kiitos! (That's thanks in Finnish! ) I've been wondering about these things and you saved me some time. Cool!
Back to top
S
Skale Clueless


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Bergen, Norway

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:09 pm    Post subject:

You don't get much control over the VSTi's though, or am I doing something wrong? Currently I can only enter notes. I'd hoped that basic mod FX would apply, but alas...
_________________
This signature is worthless
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
       Skale Tracker Forum Index -> Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group