:: Home :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
how big can a skaletracker file be?

 
       Skale Tracker Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dreamer_Ur
Skale Clueless


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 4

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:11 am    Post subject: how big can a skaletracker file be?

hey guys, i was just wondering how many mb's a single skaletracker file could be at max.
i've just purchased Drumkit From Hell, and want to use the samples in skaletracker. since there are a lot of samples, my .SKM file is gonna be pretty big, i'm up to 50 mb and that's just the bassdrum and snaredrum samples! am i gonna run into problems if the filesize increases even more?
tell me your experiences please thanks in advance!
Back to top
Sportfreund
Skale User


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 66
Location: Austria

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:38 am    Post subject:

well my biggest .skm is 89 megs so far. i guess the filesize will only be limited by the ram of your machine. just try it out and let us know
Back to top
vereiser
Skale Moderator


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 314
Location: Berlin, Germany

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:54 pm    Post subject:

Some of my files enclosed xm have a size of more than 100MB.
I think like Sportfreund, RAM is the limitation,
_________________
http://www.vereiser.de

Intel Pentium 4 / 2,8 GHz / 1 GB DDR / WinXP Prof. / Hoontech DSP24 Value (multichannel soundcard)
Back to top
Dreamer_Ur
Skale Clueless


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 4

Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:19 pm    Post subject:

I'm up to 86 mb right now, still looking good (the loading of the song takes some time naturally)
the new Skale 0.802 version looks a bit more stable, hasnt crashed anything yet, even when starting a big song with loads of VST's running. good job Skale people!

Click Here for a sample of the new drumkit. I'm having difficulties with the freq of the snaredrum, any suggestions? everything skale exept the guitars
Back to top
emu1212
Skale Clueless


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 8:46 pm    Post subject:

First of all i am a newbie here , i would like to say greetings to all
the people who are on board.. and to the programmer guys..

My comment to Dreamer_Ur.

I think it would be an advantage for you to use "pre cutting" softwares.
(no i am not a concurent software marketing person)

I do it like this... check :::

I take the potential samplepiece (bassdrm, snare , cymbal etc) and edit
them into patterns. You cant do your own when you import a
2,5 minutes long drum loop ( if i calculate correctly). 1min 44khz 16bit
sample = 10mb. you told that your .skm is now 50mb with 2 imported
sample. Of course there are difficulties in Skale with the sample editor
section ! That s why i need to use other progs too and import the pre-
cutted samples into the skale ..... so doing more complete
work from edited patterns.. and still like to use that Skale.
The truth is hard, The FIRST really good working and complete Skale still
not released, so the really innovative and creative inside of me cant be recorded completely without recording live like it was in FTII back then, but the mixer and the sound quality and the VST is wonderful.I hope a few from the new members will survive. We need some information about the closer future. Cause you are Our Future.

Regards.: emu1212


_________________
hi people . dont forget to learn something new.
have a wonderful day.
Back to top
Dreamer_Ur
Skale Clueless


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 4

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 3:45 pm    Post subject:

I had a hard time reading your post, but thanks!
i did not import just 2 samples, i have created 2 instruments with about 50 samples each! about 30 snare hits and so on and so on. i dont work with loops, i create drum patterns one hit at a time, been doing it since 1995
Back to top
emu1212
Skale Clueless


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:05 pm    Post subject:

Sorry Dreamer Ur.

It was hard to figure out from your first Post , what s exactly your
problem is.You told only now , you was importing 30 different snare
and bdrm samples. Now i see the problem from much different view.

I have a new idea :

Have you tried to create new "snare" or "bdrm" sounds by importing two
different snares on separate channel and mixing them together or (
and ) using VST, and/or filter?With this you would be able to reduce to
number of your snares in memory without losing from your composition.

maybe it helps.

i do it since 2012 . pf
_________________
hi people . dont forget to learn something new.
have a wonderful day.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
       Skale Tracker Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group